Data Migration - from BREEZE

Sections: 

Data Mapping Chart - What is included and what is not
Detailed 3 Step Process
Deleting Inactive Records


BREEZE to ChMS Data Migration Mapping Chart

Items with a “-” are items that do not migrate. 

This is subject to change if Breeze changes their system, version or method of providing the data files we normally use.


BREEZE:

ChMS:

Profile Basic Info:

 

First Name

First Name

Last Name

Last Name

Middle Name

-

Nickname

Preferred Name

Maiden Name

-

Gender

Gender

Status

Status

Marital Status

Marital Status

Birthdate

Birthdate

Birthdate Month/Day

-

Age

-

Family

-

Family Role

Family Relationship

School

School

Graduation Year

-

Grade

Group

Employer

Job Title, Occupation & Employer

Mobile

Mobile

Home

Home

Work

Work

Campus

Campus

Email

Email

Street Address

Street Address

City

City

State

State

Zip

Zip

Import ID

-

Allergies

Child Check-In Note

Anniversary Date

Anniversary Date

Anniversary Date Month/Day

-

Years Since Anniversary Date

-

Assign Follow Ups

-

Background Check Info

-

Baptism Date 

Baptism Date

Baptism Date Month/Day

-

Years Since Baptism Date

-

Baptized Here

-

Bar Code ID

-

Classes

-

Legacy Contact ID

-

Country

-

Legacy Date Created

-

Legacy Date Created Month/Day

-

Years Since Legacy Date Created

-

Education

Education

Email - Family

-

Family Type

-

Legacy Household ID

-

Household Name

-

How Heard about Us

-

Include In Directory

Directory Group

Job Title

Job Title, Occupation & Employer

MA - Training

-

Mailing Lists

-

Membership Date

Membership Date

Membership Date Month/Day

-

Years Since Membership Date

-

Newsletter

-

Occupation

Job Title, Occupation & Employer

Opted Out Email

-

Opted Out SMS

-

Address Type

-

Print Statement?

-

Prior Church Status

-

Race

-

Staff Member

-

Status As Of Date

-

Status As Of Date Month/Day

-

Years Since Status As Of Date

-

Status History

-

Added Date

Created Date

Contributions:

-

Date

Date

Amount

Amount

Fund(s)

Fund(s)

Source

“Input” is migrated as default for all sources

Check Number

Notes

Notes

Notes


Detailed 3 Step Process


1. Initial Data Migration


The first run of data migration is called the Initial Data Migration (IDM). The IDM does not change or delete information in your current system.


Once you’ve been notified that your IDM is ready for review, you and your team should verify data accuracy. First, verify that your data has been migrated accurately by comparing what migrated into the new system versus what is recorded in your current system. Please complete this data validation before making any changes for testing and training purposes only in the new system. The validation effort will ensure accuracy and complement your other training efforts.


Even though you see your data in the new system, you should continue using your current system until your Final Data Migration (FDM) is complete. During this time, we encourage you to learn the system, test your processes, and prepare your team before you complete your Final Data Migration and go live. 


However, if you are ready to get started right away, you can skip steps 2 & 3 and think of your Initial Data Migration as your Final Data Migration.  This is a great option for churches without a lot of complexity in their data.



2. Sandbox Phase


After your initial data migration and subsequent adjustment migration runs if needed, a copy of your data remains temporarily in the new system. On a later date, when the final data migration is run, ALL the data including configurations/settings in the new system will be purged and replaced with up-to-date data from your current system. The time between these two dates provides a "sandbox" training environment in the new system during your implementation process. The Sandbox Phase is an ideal time to practice using the new system and defining your processes.


During the Sandbox Phase, please remember to only enter data into the new system for practice, as all data and configurations/settings will be purged on a later date.



3. Final Data Migration (FDM) and Go Live


After taking the time to learn the new system, making implementation decisions, testing, and preparing your team, a final data migration can be executed. The scope of migrated data and configuration is the same as the Initial Data Migration. FDM purges all data from the new system and replaces it with a copy of the most recent data that you will upload. 


Here is the schedule surrounding FDM:

  • All data entry must be completed in your current system prior to data migration.
  • Both your current system and the new system must be left idle on the day of migration.
  • The new system will be ready for validation immediately following migration.
  • We recommend that you validate your data in the new system compared to your current system data, just as you did after the Initial Data Migration. If you see any discrepancies, please contact the data migration team with a detailed explanation of what information was not imported correctly, so the issue(s) can be addressed as quickly as possible. 
  • After validation, you sign-off, then we give you the go-ahead for your team to begin using the new system to complete any additional setup and data entry in preparation for Go Live.

Go Live

Once your Final Data Migration is complete and your has been data validated, you will announce to your team that your church is now "live" with the new system. At this point the new system becomes your authoritative database. From this day forward your team will use the new system for all data management.


Here are a few things you’ll want to do right after your FDM is signed off on:

  • Assign correct permission roles to all needed users
  • Check and update settings if needed
  • If you are using our Online Giving, follow the instructions to integrate it with the new system.
  • Start data clean up if necessary (edit, merge, move, split, etc.)
  • Set up groups by changing names, adding groups, and adding members and leaders to groups or deleting unneeded groups
  • Check all group settings and create and assign group Categories and Properties
  • Setup any needed Interaction types, Workflows, etc.


Deleting Inactive Records

Transitioning to a new system is a great time to clean up your database by deleting old and inactive records.  For guidance on how to remove records, please see the following help article: Record Management - Export and Remove.